Women of Canterbury Brunch

Sunday, April 28, 2019
12:30 PM | Robert M. Steele '72 Hall Dining Hall

Please join the Women of Canterbury on Sunday, April 28 as they honor Alison Bailey, the 2019 Woman of the Year, in recognition of her extraordinary warmth, kindness and dedication to the entire Canterbury community.

Alison Bailey joined the Canterbury community in 2013 and is currently Director of the Donovan Center for Learning and an English teacher. She attended Taft School as a boarding student for four years and graduated St. Lawrence University with a bachelor’s degree in English literature. Before joining the Canterbury faculty, Ms. Bailey worked as an English teacher, college counselor, and tri-varsity coach at Northwood School in Lake Placid, NY. She also taught at Fay School, MA and The Pennington School, NJ. Ms. Bailey grew up in New Milford, CT and learned to skate at Canterbury’s O’Neill Arena. In addition to being a teacher, coach, advisor, and colleague, her greatest role is that of a mother. Ms. Bailey lives on campus and describes raising her son, Griffin, on the hilltop as an extraordinary experience.

On a daily basis, Ms. Bailey demonstrates care, compassion, and an unwavering commitment to every Canterbury student. Her work in the Donovan Center takes the form of a true partnership with students, inspiring their confidence in myriad ways and nurturing their achievement toward both academic and personal goals. Ms. Bailey was chosen as Canterbury School’s 2019 Woman of the Year because her passion, grace, and smile are felt widespread throughout the entire campus community, and her lasting impact on students’ success is immeasurable.

If you have any questions about the Women of Canterbury Brunch, please contact Kim Polsonetti, Advancement Associate, at kpolsonetti@cbury.org or 860.210.3814


Woman of the Year Award Past Recipients

Sandra Behan 2001
Lou Mandler 2002
Margie Jenkins 2003
Kim Tester 2004
Tracy Garcia-LaVigne 2005
Beverly Lee 2006
Shannon Greene 2007
Leila Stepankiw 2008
Madeline Dreeke 2009
Amy McKenna Omana '86 2010
Linda Labet 2011
Elyse Soifersmith 2012
Jen Lee Chandler '84 2013
Suzanne Roberts 2014
Betsy Sheehy 2015
Patricia Sordoni Rasmussen '92 2016
Sandra Behan


Zelia Schimanskey 2018


Chapel of Our Lady 
11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

Brunch Reception

Robert M. Steele '72 Hall
Dining Hall
12:30 - 2:30 PM