Skip To Main Content

Alumni Recognition

Each year, the Society of Alumni celebrates alumni who have made an impact in their profession, community, or the world at large, and who have shown extreme dedication to Canterbury School. Awards are presented at the Society of Alumni Annual Meeting during Alumni Weekend.

Thomas J. Sheehy III Distinguished Alumni Award: Established in 2014 and named after the fifth headmaster of Canterbury School, this award recognizes an alumnus/a of Canterbury School who through their professional, community, or public service, has brought distinction to themselves, credit to Canterbury School, and benefit to the communities they serve. Click here to see profiles of past award recipients.

Outstanding Young Alumni Award: Established in 2018, the Canterbury School Outstanding Young Alumni Award honors an alumnus/a who graduated within the last twenty-five years, who has made significant contributions to civic organizations and/or a chosen profession, whose life is characterized by creativity, curiosity and community service, and who reflects the highest ideals of Canterbury School. Click here to see profiles of past award recipients.

James R. Briggs ’56 Honorary Alumni Award: Named for our devoted alumnus and trustee whose vision and direction was the catalyst for establishing the Canterbury School Society of Alumni in 2014, this honor is bestowed upon individuals who are not graduates of Canterbury School and who have made significant contributions to Canterbury’s mission, prestige, and reputation for excellence. It is extended to those who have adopted the School as their own through uncommon and long-standing service, substantial and continuing commitment, and extraordinary loyalty. Click here to see a list of past award recipients.