

THE ONE-HUNDRED-FIFTH COMMENCEMENT EXERCISES

MAY 27, 2022 • 11:00 AM

PROGRAM

| PROCESSION OF FACULTY AND GRADUATES |
|---|
| 11:00 AM |
| PROCESSIONAL Festival March by Antonio Valenti |
| REMARKS |
| AWARDING OF PRIZES |
| Suzanne Roberts P '24, Associate Head of School for Academics |
| Jim Stone P '23, '24, Director of Athletics |
| Peter LaVigne P '14, '16, '17, '20, '23, |
| Assistant Head of School for Student Life |
| Rachel Stone P '23, '24, Head of School |
| VALEDICTORY SPEAKER Hanyan Cai '22 |
| AWARDING OF DIPLOMA |
| Rachel Stone P '23, '24, Head of School |
| Peter LaVigne P '14, '16, '17, '20, '23, |
| Assistant Head of School for Student Life |
| Jake Dellorco, 2022 Cantuarian Dedicatee |
| CLOSING PRAYER Isabella Carioscia '22, Sacristan |
| RECESSIONAL Trumpet Tune and Aire by Henry Purcell |
| 12:00 PM Al Fresco Lunch Pick-up, Steers Center Patio |

THE CLASS OF 2022

Hannah Annunziata ^ Nikolai Azan ^

Stella Bandak (CHS) ^

Dias Belda Cyrus Booth ** Ryan Bordiere Laurence Brady (CHS) Gabriella Cafiero ^

Hanyan Cai (CHS) ^
Thomas Candelora
Philip Cappelli ** ^
Isabella Carioscia (CHS) :

Isabella Carioscia (CHS) ** ^ Jennifer Castro (CHS)

Santiago Chalela

Emily Chickering (CHS) ^

Harold Clark *
Peter Coakley
Max Cooper ^
Can Cui ^
Joseph DeAngelis
Ryan DeSantis * ** ^
Eric Diaz

Noah Eldridge Giovanna Esposito (CHS) **

Giancarlo Faraci ^
Ian Fernandes (CHS) ** ^
Maria Consuelo Fernandez

Gonzalez Alexandra Finck Caroline Finck

Tyler Dinapoli

Marina Fossati Druck (CHS)

Mark Foster Jacob Gee (CHS) ^ Daniel Gerts

Victoria Gioiele (CHS) ^

Camden Glonek William Granata

Lindsey Grandolfo (CHS) ^

Erica Greene (CHS)

Xinyi Gu ^ Daniel Hall Evan Hall

Cameron Heeman Robert Heintz *** Tyrone Holloway Kyle Hughes Mason Jackson

Jaden Kealey
Jeremiah Keefe (CHS) **

Aidan Kehoe

Walter Kershaw (CHS)
Richard Kerstetter
Claire Kessing **
Alessandra King **
Mari Leonard (CHS) **
Jerry Liu (CHS) ^
Gavin Long (CHS)

Christopher Lynch **
Owen Lynn *
Emma Caitlin Maloney

Francesca Mangravite
Ryan Marici (CHS) * **

Aedan McDermott
Trevor McDonald
Patrick McKiernan

Olivia Meola (CHS)
Abigail Mitchell (CHS) ^
Maxim Mochalov (CHS) ** ^

James Morice Sean Morris

Matthew Mulhern * ^

Alejandro Najri

Kathryn Naughton (CHS) ^

Olivia O'Connor ^

Patrick O'Shaughnessy (CHS) Alastair Ostrowski (CHS)

Diego Paredes Mia Perrucci

Katelynn Pizzano (CHS) ** ^

Peter Reelick ^ Ashley Regina (CHS)

Aiden Richardson ^
Patrick Rutledge
David Salazar (CHS) ^

Madelyn Samplatsky (CHS) ^ Logan Sanford (CHS) ^

Mason Santomero

Alex Schneider (CHS) * ** ^ Nicola Sherriff (CHS) * ** ^ Sarina Sheth (CHS) ** Mateo Siabatto (CHS)

Cooper Stepankiw (CHS) ** ^
Brooke Stevenson

Aidan Sullivan Yijiang Tian ^ Jason Titunik Qingzhi Tu (CHS) ^ Henry Vetter *

Sebastian Voskericyan (CHS) ^

Terrence Washington
Malcolm Waynick
Jiankun Yang (CHS)
Ziqian Yang (CHS)
Qixiu Yao (CHS) ^
Yunfan Zhang (CHS) ^

(CHS) = Member of The Canterbury Honor Society

(*) = Child of Canterbury Graduate (**) = Sibling of Canterbury Graduate

(***) = Grandchild of Canterbury Graduate

(^) = Four-year member, "Diehard" of the Class of 2022

MAJOR AWARDS

THE J.P. MANDLER TEACHING AWARD

In honor of J.P. Mandler, who served the School for 46 years in the roles of English Department Chair, Director of Studies, Dean of Faculty, Director of Technology, Dean of the School, Senior Master, and Longest-Tenured Faculty Member.

Presented each year to that faculty member who reflects the fundamental commitment to excellence in classroom teaching.

THE ROBERT M. STEELE '72 SCHOLAR-ATHLETE AWARD

In memory of Robert M. Steele, a model scholar-athlete. *For academic and athletic achievement.*

THE CHARLES R. HUNTINGTON SCHOLAR-ATHLETE AWARD

In memory of Mr. Huntington, teacher, coach, and Athletic Director from 1969-1999.

For academic and athletic achievement.

THE ELIZABETH (BETTY) BURKE AWARD

Given by the family of Mrs. Burke, who served the School from 1964 to 1995 in the roles of faculty spouse, parent, hostess, and school nurse. For cheerful determination to serve God and others.

THE CLASS OF 1987 CITIZENSHIP AWARD

Presented to the Sixth Former who in the judgment of classmates has best fulfilled obligations to school, to fellow students, and to self.

THE RICHARD L. AND MARY CATHERINE FARRELLY AWARD

Presented to the Sixth Former who serves Canterbury quietly, yet thoroughly.

THE PHILIP H. BRODIE AWARD

In memory of Mr. Brodie, who was a teacher at Canterbury from 1919-1921 and 1924-1957.

For exceptional achievement and all-around service to the School.

THE DR. NELSON HUME AWARD

Presented to the Sixth Former whose leadership, character and achievements have been of the highest order, and whose performance embodies the ideals of the founding Headmaster.

Music provided by the Western Connecticut State University Brass Ensemble and The Carillon Guild playing the Jose M. Ferrer Memorial Carillon.