

THE ONE-HUNDRED-SIXTH COMMENCEMENT EXERCISES

MAY 26, 2023 • 11:00 AM

PROGRAM

PROCESSION OF FACULTY AND GRADUATES
11:00 AM
PROCESSIONAL Festival March by Antonio Valenti
REMARKS
AWARDING OF PRIZES
Suzanne Roberts P '24, Associate Head of School for Academics
Rachel Stone P '23, '24, Head of School
Jim Stone P '23, '24, Director of Athletics
Peter LaVigne P '14, '16, '17, '20, '23,
Assistant Head of School for Student Life
VALEDICTORY SPEAKERXinyi Weng '23
AWARDING OF DIPLOMA
Rachel Stone P '23, '24, Head of School
Peter LaVigne P '14, '16, '17, '20, '23,
Assistant Head of School for Student Life
Pádraig Lawlor, 2023 Cantuarian dedicatee
CLOSING PRAYER Cadence Schneider '23, Sacristan
RECESSIONAL Trumpet Tune and Aire by Henry Purcell
12:00 PMLuncheon, Steele Hall, Dining Hall

THE CLASS OF 2023

Godson Chukwuka Ajoku
Owen M. Arias (CHS)
John Tunney Bagg (CHS) ^
Adrianna Amalia Balducci
Kenneth Francis Begasse III (CHS)
Lauren Elizabeth Bellucci (CHS)
Stephanie Ann Bissing (CHS)
Angelina Giustina Bonasera
Annaleise Élin Booth ** ^

Elliot Cooper Cantor ^
Spencer Chard
Andrew Zhe Chen (CHS) ^
Youngchan Choi ** ^
Olivia Tilton Clark (CHS) *
Sophia Olivia Crowe

Kaitlyn Dammers ^

Jed Ethan Brazo

Angela Danso Adjei ^
John Danso Adjei ^
Flynn Andrew Davis
Gabriella Rose Dellacroce ^
Stephen James DiBlasi *

Jared Scott Ely Veikko John Eskelin (CHS) ^ Cameron Estevez Jason Paul Fisher (CHS)

Erin Kelley Flaherty (CHS) ^
Neve Elizabeth Flanagan (CHS) * ^

Cameron R. Folli
Luke Andrew Germain

Braden Reid Fitzgerald

Richard Cifarelli Gosman ^

Jack Guinta *
Colton George Harte

Theodore Thomas Hauser

Samantha Christine Hawley (CHS) ** ^ Alexander Olcese (CHS) ** ^

William Francis Heitman Ellen Kinsley Phoebe Holmgren

Zhe Ji ^

Junseong Jo (CHS) ^
Patrick Dawson Kane

Huanrui Hu (CHS) ^

Rhea Maria Khazzaka (CHS) ^ Jake Anthony Kloss (CHS) Connor Hyunjun Koh (CHS) ^

Thomas Charles Lapham
Matthew Alexander Lappin

Lily Amparo Garcia LaVigne (CHS) ** ^
Xavier Christopher Leone (CHS) ^

Yunhan Li (CHS) ^

Olivia Jacquelyn Lynn (CHS) * ** ^

Elijah Malik Manning
Andrew Sauter Martin **
Sophia Gianna Maselli ^
John McCain (CHS)
Kiley Elizabeth McCooey ^
Riley Frances McPhee (CHS)
Lauren Treme McQueen

Anne Catherine Melich (CHS) **
Jerome Reece Montrone

Dana James Moreau Jr.

Fiona Grace Mulheren

Hannah Elisabeth Nash (CHS) ^

Grace Kelly Nowak

Joy Vera Okonye (CHS) ^

Alexander Olcese (CHS) ** ^

Patrick Joseph Pannasch ^

Charles Anderst Phillips (CHS)

Thomas Merrigan Prendergast

Beckett Reynolds ^

Ava Elizabeth Ruisi (CHS) ^
Cadence Marie Schneider * ** ^

Amanda Marie Regina (CHS) **

Noah Thomas Schretzenmayer (CHS) ^ Sean Michael Stephenson Bryce Matthew Stone (CHS) ^ Cullen James Stone (CHS) ^

Tyrese S. Taylor

Liam Patrick TeeKing (CHS) ** ^
Avery Francesca Trach (CHS) ** ^

James Christopher Trickett

Austin Usaty ^
Ryan Scott Vaspasiano
Sofia Maria Vial (CHS) ** ^
Yijie Wang (CHS) ^
Xinyi Weng (CHS) ^
John Robert Williamson
Mengze Wu (CHS)

Fiona Yao ^

Adam Gabriel Zarif (CHS) Michael Abraham Zarif (CHS)

(CHS) = Member of The Canterbury Honor Society

(*) = Child of Canterbury Graduate

(**) = Sibling of Canterbury Graduate (***) = Grandchild of Canterbury Graduate

(^) = Four-year member, "Diehard" of the Class of 2023

MAJOR AWARDS

THE J.P. MANDLER TEACHING AWARD

In honor of J.P. Mandler, who served the School for 46 years in the roles of English Department Chair, Director of Studies, Dean of Faculty, Director of Technology, Dean of the School, Senior Master, and Longest-Tenured Faculty Member.

*Presented each year to that faculty member who reflects the fundamental commitment to excellence in classroom teaching.

THE ROBERT M. STEELE '72 SCHOLAR-ATHLETE AWARD

In memory of Robert M. Steele, a model scholar-athlete. *For academic and athletic achievement.*

THE CHARLES R. HUNTINGTON SCHOLAR-ATHLETE AWARD

In memory of Mr. Huntington, teacher, coach, and Athletic Director from 1969-1999.

For academic and athletic achievement.

THE ELIZABETH (BETTY) BURKE AWARD

Given by the family of Mrs. Burke, who served the School from 1964 to 1995 in the roles of faculty spouse, parent, hostess, and school nurse. For cheerful determination to serve God and others.

THE CLASS OF 1987 CITIZENSHIP AWARD

Presented to the Sixth Former who in the judgment of classmates has best fulfilled obligations to school, to fellow students, and to self.

THE RICHARD L. AND MARY CATHERINE FARRELLY AWARD

Presented to the Sixth Former who serves Canterbury quietly, yet thoroughly.

THE PHILIP H. BRODIE AWARD

In memory of Mr. Brodie, who was a teacher at Canterbury from 1919-1921 and 1924-1957.

For exceptional achievement and all-around service to the School.

THE DR. NELSON HUME AWARD

Presented to the Sixth Former whose leadership, character and achievements have been of the highest order, and whose performance embodies the ideals of the founding Headmaster.

Music provided by
The Western Connecticut State University Brass Ensemble and
The Carillon Guild playing the Jose M. Ferrer Memorial Carillon.