

# THE ONE-HUNDRED-FOURTH COMMENCEMENT EXERCISES

MAY 28, 2021

# PROGRAM

11:00 AM
PROCESSION OF FACULTY AND GRADUATES
PROCESSIONAL
REMARKS
Awarding of Prizes
Suzanne Roberts, Associate Head of School for Academics
Peter LaVigne, Assistant Head of School for Student Life
Valedictory Speaker
Awarding of Diplomas
Rachel E. Stone, Head of School
Wright Danenbarger, Dean of Faculty
Elyse "EJ" Soifersmith, 2021 Cantuarian Dedicatee
<b>Benediction</b>
RECESSIONAL
12:00 PM Al Fresco Lunch Pick-up, Steers Center Patio

### THE CLASS OF 2021

Sam Richard Alexanian (^)

Colin Anna

John Robert Barton

Giselle Madison Bradshaw (\*\*) (^) (CHS)

Samantha Jade Brinker

Evan J. Burke Natasha Burns

Nicholas Giovanni Enzo Capanna (\*\*) (^) (CHS)

Lexah Nicole Caraluzzi (^) (CHS)

Ju Yeon Cho (^) (CHS)

Declan G. Clancy (\*\*) (^)

Lida Isabella Coco (^)

Ian Brian Cooke

Na'Sah Dabbs (^) (CHS)

Katherine Elizabeth Delamere (^) (CHS)

Nicholas Joseph DeMatteis III Peyton Marie DeRouen (^) Chigozie Chukwuemeka Dike

Jake Oliver Elston (^) Anika Grattan Flik (CHS)

Natale Frangione Isaiah Joseph Golonka Nicolas Fields Graham (^) Lily Anna Greenwood (^)

Kennison Ann Harmon (\*\*)

Luke James Hassiak (\*) (^) Katherine Anne Hawley (\*\*) (^) (CHS)

Colleena O'Donahue Healy (\*\*)

Harris Wescott Hilfiker

Dingkun Hong (^)

Brett Thomas Hutchison

Jia Yi Ji (^) (CHS)

Christian M. Johnson

Abigail Rose Kavanaugh (^) (CHS)

Torin Henry Kearney (^) (CHS) Henry Maxwell Keating (\*\*)

Kayleigh McMahon Keefe Abigayle Mabasa King (^)

Cameron John Krinsky (^) (CHS)

Lorelai Lee Swanek (^) (CHS)

Kexin Li (^)

Yurou Li (^) (CHS)

Jakari Tyree Liston

Camryn Brooke Liuzzi

Jenna Lynch (^)

Kenny Lee Maxwell

Stella Belle McCormack

Shea Malone McKenney

Rylee Elizabeth Miles

Autumn Leigh Mish

Fatima Nda-Isaiah (^)

Quinn James O'Connor

Maximilian Albert Oeser (\*\*) (^)

Ella Nicole Olcese (^) (CHS)

Elizabeth Ondrey (\*\*) (^)

Margaret Ondrey (\*\*) (^)

Yesenia Flor Ortiz (^)

Peter James Papadopoulos

Camila Maria Peña Gomez

Anabelle Rose Pernerewski

Luke Joseph Pliego

Sean Nii-Anetey Quaye (\*\*) (^)

Sydney Laurance Ragland (\*) (CHS)

Owen Parker Ramée

Luciana Marie Robertelli

Cassidy Marie Rockwood (CHS)

Jack Rufa (^) (CHS)

Cameron Antonio Schopfer (\*\*)

Benjamin Mizer Secor (CHS)

Nikhil Ojas Sheth

Yishan Shi (^) (CHS)

Rohan Singh

Avery Joseph Smith

Andreas Matthew Sorosiak

Nicholas Gerard Spinoso

Nicholas Tyler Sturino

Daniella Elizabeth Suarez (^)

Samuel P. Tscheppe (^) (CHS)

Sebastian Benjamin Tseng (^) (CHS)

Jessica Claire Waldmann

Zhilu Wang (^)

Andrew Richard Widlar

Andrew Wang Xu (^) (CHS)

Kai Xu (CHS)

Sandra Wang Xu (^) (CHS)

Celine Kim Yoo (^)

Maxwell Judd Zakheim

Charlotte Custis Zapletal (^) (CHS)

(CHS) = Member of The Canterbury Honor Society

(\*) = Child of Canterbury Graduate

(\*\*) = Sibling of Canterbury Graduate

(^) = Four-year member, "Diehard" of the Class of 2021

## MAJOR AWARDS

#### THE J.P. MANDLER TEACHING AWARD

In honor of J.P. Mandler, who served the School for 46 years in the roles of English Department Chair, Director of Studies, Dean of Faculty, Director of Technology, Dean of the School, Senior Master, and Longest-Tenured Faculty Member. Presented each year to that faculty member who reflects the fundamental commitment to excellence in classroom teaching.

#### THE ROBERT M. STEELE '72 SCHOLAR-ATHLETE AWARD

In memory of Robert M. Steele, a model scholar-athlete.

For academic and athletic achievement.

#### THE CHARLES R. HUNTINGTON SCHOLAR-ATHLETE AWARD

In memory of Mr. Huntington, teacher, coach, and Athletic Director from 1969-1999.

For academic and athletic achievement.

#### THE ELIZABETH (BETTY) BURKE AWARD

Given by the family of Mrs. Burke, who served the School from 1964 to 1995 in the roles of faculty spouse, parent, hostess, and school nurse. For cheerful determination to serve God and others.

#### THE CLASS OF 1987 CITIZENSHIP AWARD

Presented to the Sixth Former who in the judgment of classmates has best fulfilled obligations to school, to fellow students, and to self.

#### THE RICHARD L. AND MARY CATHARINE FARRELLY AWARD

Presented to the Sixth Former who serves Canterbury quietly, yet thoroughly.

#### THE PHILIP H. BRODIE AWARD

In memory of Mr. Brodie, who was a teacher at Canterbury from 1919-1921 and 1924-1957. For exceptional achievement and all-around service to the School.

#### THE DR. NELSON HUME AWARD

Presented to the Sixth Former whose leadership, character, and achievements have been of the highest order, and whose performance embodies the ideals of the founding Headmaster.

Music provided by The Western Connecticut State University Brass Ensemble and Mariah Reisner, carillonneur, playing the Jose M. Ferrer Memorial Carillon.