Skip To Main Content

School and League Awards Honor Winter Varsity Athletes 

Kelly Slonaker

Athletic Awards were presented to students during a virtual School Meeting on Thursday, April 9 to recognize outstanding varsity athletes over the winter term. Athletic Director Jim Stone led the announcements, including NEPSAC All-League postseason recognition. Each varsity coach recorded a special video message to their team, expressing their pride in the season’s performance and how much they miss the players, and then presented select members with an MVP Award and Coach’s Award. 

Coach Katie Mandigo presented the Girls’ Hockey MVP Award to Autumn Mish ’21 and the Coach’s Award to Grace LaVigne ’20.

Coach Paddy McCarthy presented the Boys’ Hockey MVP Award to Andrew Mancini ’20 and the Coach’s Award to Andrew Kessing ’20. The team raised $3,700 in February during their annual ALS fundraiser game in honor of player Jack McCluskey ’20’s father who is battling the disease.

Coach Kevin Conroy presented the Wrestling MVP Award to Sean Quaye ’21 and the Coach’s Award to Natale Frangione ’21. Natale, who placed third in his weight class at Nationals as a first-time wrestler, also earned All New England Honorable Mention from the New England Private School Athletic Council (NEPSAC).

Coach Amy Omaña presented the Girls’ Squash MVP Award to Sydney Ragland ’21 and the Coach’s Award to Tori Congdon ’20 and Gillian Marma ’20. The team won the coveted Team Sportsmanship Award at this year’s National competition.

Coach Raheem Logan ’12 presented the Boys’ Squash MVP Award to Justin Schneider ’20 and the Coach’s Award to Elliot Cantor ’23 and Torin Kearney ’21.

Coach Christine Harding presented awards to the Girls’ and Boys’ Swimming and Diving teams. Anabelle Pernerewski ’21 received the Girls’ Swimming and Diving MVP Award after she broke the School swimming record and earned first place and a NEPSAC All-New England Class C title in the 50m Free and 100m Breaststroke. Anna Imrie ’20 was presented with the Girls’ Swimming and Diving Coach’s Award. The Boys’ Swimming and Diving MVP Award went to Ryan Greguski ’20, who broke the School’s—and his own—diving record several times this season. The Boys’ Swimming and Diving Coach’s Award was given to Logan Sanford ’22. Samuel Tscheppe ’21 earned a NEPSAC All-New England Class C title in the 50m Free.

Coach E.J. Soifersmith presented the Girls’ Basketball MVP Award to Megan LeBlanc ’20, who also received NEPSAC All-League postseason recognition as a New England Class C All Star. The Don K. Gowan III Basketball Award—for the players who best embody the integrity, respect, and sportsmanship Don Gowan expected of his Canterbury Basketball team—was awarded to CC Poli ’20 and Emma Gambardella ’20. The team was also awarded the Team Sportsmanship Award by NEPSAC.

Coach Brian Baudinet, who was named NEPSAC Class B Coach of the Year for the second year in a row, presented the Boy’s Basketball MVP Award to Trayvon Alexander ’20. The Don K. Gowan III Basketball Award was given to Mike Iuzzolino ’20 and Mike Graham ’20. The team won the New England Class B Championship in March, and several players were recognized for their outstanding achievements on the court. Trayvon Alexander ’20, Sean Durugordon ’21, and Mike Iuzzolino ’20 were named First Team All-New England Class B, and Mike Graham ’20 and Marlon Short ’20 received Honorable Mention. Charlie Campbell ’20 was named the Prep B Tournament MVP.

Congratulations to all our winter athletes on their incredible accomplishments!

(Photo taken prior to campus closure in light of COVID-19.)