Skip To Main Content

Third, Fourth, and Fifth Form Students Lauded at Assembly

Third, Fourth, and Fifth Form Students Lauded at Assembly
Jim Norman

While seniors celebrated Commencement week, the Third, Fourth, and Fifth Form students had their moment to shine at the Underform Awards Assembly. Held May 25 in Maguire Auditorium, the event honored students in those classes for their academic accomplishments and extracurricular leadership in the past academic year.

Sacristan Liam TeeKing ’23 began the ceremony with a prayer, followed by Head of School Rachel Stone P ’23, ’24 offering high praise and appreciation for the underform students in her opening remarks. “Congratulations to all of our students for reaching the final stretch of the academic year,” she said. “Collectively, you have approached new experiences with an open and curious mind, accepted challenges rather than taking the easy route, and learned a great deal about yourselves along the way. For this, and for the extraordinary efforts of your teachers, we are both proud and grateful.” 

Rachel also offered the students an important reminder: “Your experiences here—the relationships you build; classes, sports, and instruments you try for the first time; faculty you learn to lean on and trust; and your individual growth that stems from those experiences—that is the true prize, wouldn’t you agree? And so, as we celebrate success and noteworthy performance this morning, please remember that these awards are an acknowledgement of excellent, persistent work but not a definition of where you stand, or who you are, as students and people. Do not lose sight of how you have grown this past year and of the importance of finishing well next week.”

The Underform Awards were then presented…

Nicholas DiTullio Award ’01, presented each year to Third or Fourth Form student-athletes at the sub-varsity level who have demonstrated a love for and dedication to athletics—Elena Chowdhury ’25 and Zachery Higgins ’25

Edward F. Mack Awards, given in memory of Edward F. Mack, who was a Master at Canterbury from 1928–1957, presented to students for their contribution in a particular area of school life—

Outstanding Contributions to Women of Canterbury: Elsa Copeland ’24 and Madeline Diglio ’24

The Frederick L. Gilson ’50 Award for excellence in the study of the Carillon—Katherine Datlow ’24

Dr. Nelson Hume Speech Competition Awards, given memory of Dr. Nelson Hume, the founding Headmaster, who was himself a noted orator, by the English Department to the winners of the Underform Speech Competition—

Third Form: Cody Hew ’26
Fourth Form: Kaitlynn Kenna ’25
Fifth Form: Eva Berkovich ’24
Outstanding Speaker for 2022-23: Emily Lynch ’25

Canterbury Art Legacy Award, recognizing the accomplishments of advanced art students by including their work in the permanent art collection at Canterbury—Han “Alisa” Cui ’24 

James P. Shea Award, in honor of James Shea, coach, history teacher, and department chair who served the School from 1955-1997, to the Fifth Form student of U.S. History who demonstrated improvement in persuasive argument, curiosity for knowledge through research, and a general appreciation for historical interpretation—Andrew Conto ’24

James D. Higgins ‘44 History Thesis Award, awarded to the author of the best research paper written for U.S. History classes—

Presented to a student in Honors United States History who conducted a thorough process of research and writing to create the best historical research paper: Yinghua “Wendy” Wu ’24

Presented to a student in AP United States History who wrote the best historical argument using historical documents and research: Ruari Bamrick ’24

Fifth Form College Book Awards given by prestigious colleges and universities to outstanding high school juniors from participating schools—

Smith College Book Award given to a student in the Fifth Form with significant academic potential and a commitment to making a difference in their school community—Sylvia Pinheiro ’24

Rensselaer Award presented to a student in the top 10% of the Fifth Form whose academic performance in advanced math and science courses has been outstanding, who demonstrates potential for success in a challenging academic setting, and who exhibits significant involvement in extracurricular activities—Han “Alisa” Cui ’24

Dartmouth College Book Award, presented by the local Dartmouth Club to a student in the Fifth Form who is in the top 10% of the class who has demonstrated strong character, has made a positive contribution to the school community and has excelled in at least one non-academic area—Shaun McKenna ’24

Columbia University Book Award presented to a student in the Fifth Form who exhibits the intellectual curiosity and achievement, community activism, and leadership for which Columbia is known in New York City and in the world—Ruari Bamrick ’24

Princeton University Book Award awarded to a member of the Fifth Form who displays a concern for the opinion of others while demonstrating exceptional leadership, talent, and competence in both academic and nonacademic pursuits—Irene Chen ’24

Harvard College Book Award given by the Harvard Alumni to a student in the Fifth Form who combines excellence in academics with significant achievement in extracurricular endeavor—Ella Caraluzzi ’24

Roderick Clarke ‘46 Distinguished Academic Achievement Awards, given by the Class of 1956 in memory of Former Headmaster Rod Clarke ’46 to the member of each class with the highest cumulative GPA—

Third Form: Miguel Garcia ’26
Fourth Form: Clare Kelly ’25
Fifth Form: Irene Chen ’24

Assistant Head of School for Student Life Peter LaVigne P ’14, ’16, ’17, ’20, ’23 then recognized the student leadership groups for the 2023-24 school year—Lead Ambassadors, International Student Ambassadors, Day and Boarding Proctors, DEIJ Council members, Sacristans, Interfaith Council members, and Sixth Form Council members.

Congratulations, Saints!