Skip To Main Content

Underform Awards for 2017-18 Academic Year Announced

Meredith Berry-Toon

Third, Fourth and Fifth Form students gathered for the annual end-of-year awards ceremony on Thursday, May 24. Students were honored for their academic accomplishments and extra-curricular leadership. Head of School Rachel Stone addressed the community in her opening remarks, noting how significantly each Form has grown since the opening days of the academic year.

Zachary McGrew '21 and Katherine Delamere '21 were selected for The Nicholas DiTullio Award '01, presented each year to a Third Former at the sub-varsity level who has demonstrated a love for and dedication to athletics.

The Edward F. Mack Awards were presented in memory of Mr. Mack, a faculty member at Canterbury from 1928-1957, for outstanding contribution in a particular area of school life. Sherley Arias-Pimental '19 received the award for outstanding contributions to The Tabard, Jessica Garcia '19 and Nicholas Vial '20 received the award for outstanding contributions to a theatre performance, and Sara Stone '19 received the award for outstanding contributions to technical theater.

The Dr. Nelson Hume Speech Competition Awards were presented to the winners of the Underform Speech Competition. Max Oeser '21 won for the III Form, Alexa Esposito '20 for the IV Form, Ren Xin '19 for the V Form, and Erin Sudbey '20 as the Overall Outstanding Speaker.

The James D. Higgins '44 History Thesis Award, awarded to the author of the best research paper written for the U.S. History classes, was presented to two students enrolled Honors US History, and two students enrolled in AP US History. Those recipients were Rachael DeLong '19 and Willem Steiner '19 and Gregory McKenna '19 and Ren Xin '19, respectively.

The James P. Shea Award was earned by Angelina Arceo Ferrer '19 and Kasey Celniker '19 for their improvement in persuasive argument and general appreciation for historical interpretation as demonstrated in their spring semester research project.

Rachel Stone also presented a group of Fifth Formers with book awards. Nova Chen '19 received the Harvard College Book Award. Brendan Omaña '19 received the College of the Holy Cross Book Award. Sherley Arias-Pimental '19 received the Smith College Book Award. Jessica Garcia '19 received the Dartmouth College Book Award. Gregory McKenna '19 received the University of Pennsylvania Book Award. Ren Xin '19 received the Fairfield University Book Award. Sung Won Cho '19 received the Rensselaer Award. Alexander Luo '19 received the George Washington University Book Award.

Members of the Fifth Form class who earned a cumulative GPA of highest honors were inducted into the Honor Society. Those students included Nova Chen '19, Yu Chen '19, Sung Won Cho '19, Jessica Garcia '19, Alexander Luo '19, Gregory McKenna '19, Brendan Omaña '19, and Ren Xin '19.

The ceremony concluded with the presentation of the Roderick Clarke '46 Distinguished Academic Achievement Award, given by the Class of 1956 in memory of Former Headmaster Rod Clarke '46. It is awarded annually to the member of each class with the highest cumulative GPA.

Sandra Xu '21 received the award for the Third Form, Sabrina Capodicci '20 for the Fourth Form, and Gregory McKenna '19 for the V Form.

Awards for the graduating Class of 2018 will be announced during Commencement on Friday, May 25.

Photos of Underform Awards Ceremony