Skip To Main Content

Underform Awards for 2018-19 Academic Year Announced

Meredith Berry-Toon

Third, Fourth, and Fifth Form students gathered for the annual end-of-year awards ceremony on Thursday, May 23. Students were honored for their academic accomplishments and extra-curricular leadership. Head of School Rachel Stone addressed the community in her opening remarks and referenced several highlights of the year as well as growth exhibited by the entire student body. 

Nikky Sherriff ’22 and Alex Schneider ’22 were selected for The Nicholas DiTullio Award ‘01, presented each year to a Third Former at the sub-varsity level who has demonstrated a love for and dedication to athletics. 

The Edward F. Mack Awards were presented in memory of Mr. Mack, a faculty member at Canterbury from 1928-1957, for outstanding contribution in a particular area of school life. Erin Sudbey ’20 received the award for outstanding contributions to community service. 

The Dr. Nelson Hume Speech Competition Awards were presented to the winners of the Underform Speech Competition. Isabella Carioscia ’22 won for the Third Form, Noah Maximin for the Fourth Form, Xing Gao ’20 for the Fifth Form, and Max Oeser as the Overall Outstanding Speaker. 

The James D. Higgins ‘44 History Thesis Award, awarded to the author of the best research paper written for the U.S. History classes, was presented to one student enrolled Honors US History and three students enrolled in AP US History. Those recipients were Xing Gao ’20, Jillian Carleton ’20, Katherine Grissmer ’20, and Sabrina Capodicci ’20, respectively. 

The James P. Shea Award was earned by Cassidy Hull ’20 and Samantha Jade Brinker ’20 for their improvement in persuasive argument and general appreciation for historical interpretation as demonstrated in their spring semester research project. 

Rachel Stone also presented a group of Fifth Formers with book awards. Sabrina Capodicci received the Harvard College Book Award. Brigida Caruso received the Smith College Book Award. Erik Stedman received the Dartmouth College Book Award. Gabe Diamond received the University of Pennsylvania Book Award. Jiayi Wu received the Rensselaer Award. Abby Omaña received the St. Lawrence University Book Award, and Erin Sudbey received the George Washington University Book Award. 

Members of the Fifth Form class who earned a cumulative GPA of highest honors were inducted into the Honor Society. Those students included Sabrina Capodicci, Brigida Caruso, Gabe Diamond, Xing Gao, Ryan Greguski, Katherine Grissmer, Abby Omaña, Yitian Sun, and Jiayi Wu. 

The ceremony concluded with the presentation of the Roderick Clarke ‘46 Distinguished Academic Achievement Award, given by the Class of 1956 in memory of Former Headmaster Rod Clarke ‘46. It is awarded annually to the member of each class with the highest cumulative GPA.

Hanyan Cai received the award for the Third Form, Jia Yi Ji for the Fourth Form, and Sabrina Capodicci for the Fifth Form. 

Congratulations, Saints!

Photos of Underform Award Assembly